Part of my training plan is to cross-train on the some of
the days I’m not running. This may
include weights/kettle bells, Pilates, dusting off my bike once all the snow
melts- anything to keep moving on the off days.
Last night I went back to my athletic roots- I got in the
pool. I swam competitively year-round
from when I was in the 8 & under age group, through my senior year of high
school. By the time I got to my last
meet of my senior year, I was done.
Burnt out. Lost all desire to get
back in a pool for the sake of doing laps.
These days, a pool is a means to get a sun tan and float on a noodle. Last night, that changed. I decided to go swim.
It wasn’t pretty, it took about 800 yards before I found a rhythm
and didn’t feel like I was all flailing arms and legs. I just did 100’s- averaged just less than 2
minutes per 100 (so sad, my fastest was like 45+ seconds faster than that. I’m old and slow.), mostly freestyle, did one
backstroke and another one dolphin kick on my back. Total yards: 1600 in 40 minutes.
I hope to make Wednesday nights a regular swim night. Getting a lane at open swim isn’t always the easiest
at my YMCA as the pool is being used for swim lessons and water aerobics most
nights. But, Wednesday nights seem to be
the most open night on the pool schedule and when I got there around 7:30, the
pool was pretty empty and I had a lane to myself.
On a side note, my YMCA needs to update their locker
rooms. The women’s locker room is lovely
shades of outdated pinks and mauves.
On tap for the rest of the week: 2 more runs. Hope my shoes are finally dry from the massive flood
I ran through on Tuesday.
Nice job!
ReplyDeleteAwesome
ReplyDelete