It was about a 15 minute walk from parking to the race area, nice little warm up before time. The starting area wasn't too crowded, race organizers said there were over 500 participants signed up.
| Pre-race selfies |
Mile 1: Okay, I can do this, my legs feel okay, not too much shin pain. Don't go out too fast. Stay out of the way of the faster runners. Wow, it's sunny, wish I wore my sunglasses. My shin hurts a little bit, don't give up. A hill already? Okay, now my shin is really hurting. Slow down a little bit. Is it too soon to walk? Screw it, I need to walk a minute. Okay, start running again. Ow ow ow. Tweak foot strike, that feels better. Ow ow ow, maybe not. Crap, look how far people are already. That bridge over there is so far away. Walk again. There's a sign- 1 mile- it's only been 1 mile?
Mile 2: Try a run/walk combo like the girl in front of you in the sparkly pants. Wow, those pants sparkle. Ow ow ow, shin definitely not healed yet. Let's walk/walk instead. Speed walk, speed walk. Is it 3 miles yet? Every step hurts. Oh, finally at that bridge I saw across the lake. WTF, we have to go past the bridge and then double back to it? Water station. Ooh, this water is icy cold. Okay, let's run again, run from here to the bridge. Ow ow ow. Maybe not. I hate this. I can't even handle a 5K, I'm never going to make 13.1 miles. Definitely think I should defer my 2014 half marathon registration to 2015. I'm going to fail. Screw this. Is there a golf cart that can come pick me up? People are done already, I hate them. Oh, another sign, 2 miles- whew, this torture is almost done.
Mile 3: Home stretch. Toughen up Kristin, stop being weak. Run/walk some more. Your leg isn't that bad. Stop using it as an excuse. Ow ow ow. Okay, yes it is that bad. Walk now has a bit of a limp to it. Suck it up buttercup, you are not going to walk across that finish line. Dig deep and give this last half mile what you can. Look, you can see the finish line now. Your leg can handle it. One more step, one more step. Finish line crossed, medal in hand, thank God that's over. But, I did it! I survived! I did better than anyone who didn't sign up and is currently lying on their couch!
| Girl on fire, crossing the finish line. Where can I get that shin transplant? |
Final time: 49:40. Disappointed in myself. Some of that less-than-stellar time can be attributed to walking because of shin pain, but a good part of it was my crappy attitude as well.
| While I completed the race, I don't feel like I fully earned this medal. |
| Mmmmm, margarita.... |
Ready to get running again...
A good job! Shin pain is nothing to mess with. Maybe you have shin splints? Those can be a bear! You may want to play with your foot strike like you were doing. Also work with a chiropractor if you haven't already... very nice job though! You were not weak. In any of these athletic endeavors you have to listen to what your body is saying, or you could get hurt for reals!! Best to you in the future!!
ReplyDelete